WSCD 2016 Fundraising

There are very few days in the year that has been set aside to highlight the importance of awareness and education of the blood disorder known as Sickle Cell Disease (SCD). World Sickle Cell Day (WSCD) is one of those very special day, as declared by the World Health Organization (WHO) in 2008 and first celebrated on June 19th 2009. According to research, SCD is one of the main causes of premature death amongst children under the age of five in various African countries, Nigeria being the only country with the most cases of Sickle Cell Disease. WHO declared SCD a public health issue that needed much attention, so this day was set apart as the day out of the whole year where awareness and public knowledge is pushed. It is a day celebrated around the world, to spread awareness and educate the public about the disease, managing techniques. This year, several sickle cell providers and organizations have several events lined up to further spread the awareness for the disease.

In the past year or so, I have been in touch with few NGOs in Nigeria just to feel them out and see how my vision and passion for the cause will fit in with theirs and Nigeria as a whole. On my recent visit to Nigeria, I linked up with couple of them ; I did couple clinic sessions where I got to talk/educate and meet few members of these NGOs. I met little kids as well as adults living with sickle cell, I got to meet few parents and caretakers of some of these people, as well as medical persons who volunteer their time and knowledge (paid and unpaid) to help tend to the many people who turnout to these monthly clinic sessions. I enjoyed every minute of it and left Nigeria inspired, which leads me to this post.

This year’s World Sickle Cell Day, only few more days away, I am taking a step further by initiating a campaign to support sickle cell outreach. It’s not news that the Nigerian healthcare is lacking, more so for those with sickle cell disease. My campaign is to those living with scd, who cannot afford basic treatment, to be able to get medications and treatment supplies for free. A GoFundMe account  has been initiated to raise money for these needs, feel free to donate any amount (in any currency, if you want to donate Naira please let me know and we can setup a way for you to contribute). and remember to share with your friends and families.

June 8th will be ideal for deadline, to make sure everything is ready for WSCD week. Yes, that is literally a week to fundraise a sum amount of $5,000, but I’m totally counting on you. I hope you will join me on this campaign and share with others to as well.

Also, there is Red Umbrella Walk on June 11th, to celebrate SCD and spread awareness, check it out, sign up and come out to support if you are able. I would love to meet/see so many of you.

 

Till Next Post, Ciao!

 

4 comments

Leave a comment